ACEI DESIGN EXCELLENCE AWARDS 2019 Winners< back to news

ACEI is pleased to announce the Design Excellence Award Winners for 2019

The awards were presented at the ACEI Awards Dinner, Intercontinental Hotel on 29th March 2019

Congratulations to all of the winning firms and their projects which were selected from a strong field of nominations.

Structures - Large Project Category - Winner
Hanley Pepper 
for One Microsoft Place, Leopardstown


Winner of the Structures – Large Award: Hanley Pepper for One Microsoft Place, Leopardstown. ACEI President Ciarán Kennedy with Joe Ryan (Project and Managing Director), Kevin Pepper, Lisa-Jane Mears (Project Engineer), Jeff Schumacher (Microsoft), Michael Jackson, Aaron Condron, Hanley Pepper Consulting Engineers

Structures - Medium Projects Category - Winner

Barrett Mahony Consulting Engineers for 14 Henrietta Street, Tenement Museum, Dublin 1


Winner of the Structures - Medium Award: Barrett Mahony Consulting Engineers for 14 Henrietta Street Tenement Museum, Dublin 1. ACEI President Ciarán Kennedy with Darragh O'Rourke, Stephen O'Connor, Barrett Mahony Consulting Engineers

Structures - Small Projects Category - Winner

TOBIN Consulting Engineersfor the Aran Sweater Market, Galway


Winner of the Structures - Small Award: TOBIN Consulting Engineers for the Aran Sweater Market, Galway. ACEI President Ciarán Kennedy with Robert Hunt, Shane Kelly, Paul Daniel, Robert Tobin, Morgan Casey, Ciaran McGovern, Tom Mackey, TOBIN Consulting Engineers

Innovation Category - Winner
Malachy Walsh and Partners  for the Rossbeigh Cliff Bypass, Kerry.


Winner of the Innovation Award: Malachy Walsh and Partners for the Rossbeigh Cliff Bypass, County Kerry. ACEI President Ciarán Kennedy with Jack O'Leary, Sean Doyle, Malachy Walsh and Partners

Overseas Category - Winner

Roughan & O'Donovan for the Northern Spire Bridge, Sunderland, UK. 


Winner of the Overseas Award: Roughan O'Donovan - BuroHappold Design Joint Venture and Farrans for the Northern Spire Bridge, Sunderland, UK. ACEI President Ciarán Kennedy with Fintan Buggy (Roughan & O’Donovan), Davood Liaghat (BuroHappold) ,Tony Dempsey (Roughan & O’Donovan), David Parr (Farrans).

At the Awards Dinner, the ACEI Emerging Professional Consulting Engineer (EPCE) Award was also presented to:

Ian Crehan, O'Connor Sutton Cronin

The ACEI President's Award was presented to:
Joseph Anthony Kindregan, for his international leadership and life-long contribution to engineering education.

A copy of the judges citations can be found here